• Central Highlands secures first “Astride the Divide”

  • The Central Highlands District team of Emerald and Moranbah players has secured the first perpetual trophy of the Central West verses Central Highlands Challenge on a beautiful sunny day in Emerald .

    Despite the predictions of a wet weekend the day was well supported with a field of 84 players turning out to compete in the challenge.

    Winning team players Noel Busk (Moranbah), Tim Deffner (Emerald), Kieth McDonell (Emerald) and Mark Peddy (Moranbah) pictured with Golf Central Highlands President Kevin O’Keeffe and Secretary Sonia Bray said “it is exciting to be part of the winning team at the inaugural event”.

    Central West players travelled from as far as Jundah, Muttaburra, Tambo and Alpha to ensure the day was a huge success.

    The focus of the day was to unite golfers across the clubs and districts so that friendships could be formed and a camaraderie forged.

    With 21 teams in total, six from Central West, teams of four players returned Single Stableford scores and then the best three scores from each team were tallied to decide the victorious team.

    Players who missed out on the event will get another bite at the cherry later in the year when Golf Central Highlands returns the favour and travels to Alpha for a rematch.  The Committee will be organising a bus to leave from Emerald for all players interested in travelling to Alpha.  The date will be confirmed later in the year.

    Full list of winners:

    Winning Team: Noel Busk (Morabah), Tim Deffner (Emerald), Kieth McDonell (Emerald) and Mark Peddy (Moranbah) – 110 Stableford Points

    Runner Up Team: Brad Stallard (Emerald), Tim Lesnik (Emerald), Ryle Martin (Emerald), Barry Wills (Emerald) – 109 Stableford Points

    Best Individual Stableford Points: Men’s winner: Ashley O’Neil (41) Ladies winner: Charmaine Ellis (39)

    Pin Shots: Hole 5: Eagan Jones & Kristie Wieland, Hole 9: Kobus Pretorius & Pat Ritchie, Hole 12: John Hart & Rae Weiki, Hole 15: Cameron Adam & Charlotte Briese, Hole 17: Noel Rogers

    Naga: Alpha Team No.5: Graham Vale, Mikel Leaney & John Fisher